fbpx
 In blog

operation_gold

Long before the Wall was built in 1961, clandestine tunnels had been built under the border strip. Smugglers used houses located on the border to create routes without customs checks by breaking through the basement.

The former World War II allies decided to spy on their neighbours in Berlin. In 1952, US intelligence officers obtained the location plans of the official telephone lines from the East Berlin postal administration. They found the position of a thick copper cable that connected the offices of the Soviet administration in Karlshorst near Berlin with the German headquarters of the Red Army in Wünsdorf near Zossen. The best thing about it: the cable was partly very close to the border.

It was not a new procedure. The British Secret Intelligence Service (SIS) had been tapping Soviet intelligence cables in Vienna for many years. The operation was called “Operation Silver”. Their colleagues from the CIA established an analogous code name for Berlin: “Operation Gold”. British and American preparations began in the spring of 1953. The equipment came from the British, the money for the work was provided by the CIA.

The Berlin CIA station chief William King Harvey, born in 1915, had a very special reputation. To colleagues, he was the “ever-revolving drunk and ex-FBI agent” (according to CIA chronicler Tim Weiner). FBI chief Edgar Hoover had fired him himself in 1947.

The opponent of Operation Gold was Yevgeny Petrovich Pitovranov. As the former head of foreign espionage, he had the best contacts in the Western intelligence services. Already at the Gold preliminary talks, his man at the SIS sat at the table, George Blake, who went by the code name “Diomid” at the KGB, reported everything to Pitovranov.

Nikita Khrushchev ruled in Moscow. For his world policy, a busted CIA / SIS spy mission was first-class propaganda material. But they waited to gather incontrovertible evidence. In September 1954, work began on the tunnel. The entrance was in the south of Berlin, in Rudow. Military warehouses and radar antennas were erected as camouflage. Six metres deep and about four hundred metres wide, they dug into the Soviet zone. The cable was on the road to Schoenefeld Airport, and the workers had to shovel around 3,000 tonnes of earth through the tunnel. The Pioneer Corps had tested a new shield driving method, which was now being used. But there were considerable problems, they had to deal with water ingress, and instead of solid clay they found trickling sand on the east side. The most difficult point was the end point, because the cable was only one metre deep. The proximity to the road made the stability of the tunnel critical.

ddr_grenze

At the beginning of 1955, they were finally ready. Ventilation, drainage and an explosive charge for self-destruction were ready. The experts seemed to have connected to the line without anyone upstairs noticing. Voice and telex messages ran on 500 channels. A large part was encrypted. An evaluation centre was set up in London with 317 specialists. Another was in Washington with 350 employees. 365,000 conversations alone were recorded on tape. First-class material. Apparently. In fact, Pitowranow controlled exactly what went over the wires. Occasionally, he himself made a contribution. For example, he reassured his wife, who didn’t like her accommodation in Berlin, or he arranged a hunt, unwaidmännisch with night-vision equipment.

Until the end, the analysts noticed nothing. Then, in early 1956, Moscow decided to spring the trap. The KGB used heavy rains as an excuse to send out jamming searchers. On the night of 22 April, a hole was dug. Among the “workers” was Markus Wolf, the later GDR intelligence chief. Apparently quite by chance, the spy facilities were discovered. Typical CIA: the self-destruct system failed. So later the international press was able to visit the tunnel. The highlight was a sign allegedly painted by William King Harvey himself: “You are now entering the American sector.”

The CIA had a microphone in the tunnel and the dubious satisfaction of hearing the visitors’ comments. In the afternoon, this mike was also cut. At 15.50, Operation Gold ended after eleven and a half months.

SIS and CIA continued to use resources to evaluate the tapes. It was not until 1961 that a defector from Poland, George Blake was exposed as a mole. He was sentenced to 42 years in prison in Britain, but escaped in 1966 under questionable circumstances. He reached Moscow and gave numerous interviews. The KGB never gave details about “Gold”. “Gold” was not the only CIA wiretap in the GDR, but it is the only well-documented case.

The GDR and Soviet officials used “Gold” as an argument for building the Wall in 1961.

There were many wiretapping attempts in Berlin. In 1973, the Lübecker Straße exchange in Moabit suddenly had numerous interceptions. While the postal workers were working to fix them, three British agents appeared. It turned out that they had been listening in on West Berliners for years using old lead cables from the Third Reich. One cable had been damaged by construction workers and triggered the interference. The KGB and Stasi also bugged West Berlin. The telephone booth on the west side of Checkpoint Charly was bugged anew every day and just as often unbugged by western “exterminators”.

State security monitored telephone connections to West Berlin and also letter post.

After the “gold” fiasco, the CIA relied more and more on monitoring the Soviets’ wireless communications. Large wiretapping facilities were set up on Teufelsberg. But even there, the KGB managed to smuggle in personnel.

president-john-f-kennedy-396982_640Ballonflucht_berliner_mauer

In blog

Operation Gold

Schon lange vor dem Mauerbau 1961 gab es heimliche Tunnelbauten unter dem Grenzstreifen. Schmuggler nutzten Häuser, die an der Grenze lagen, um mit einem Durchbruch im Keller Wege ohne Zollkontrollen zu schaffen.

Die ehemaligen Verbündeten des Zweiten Weltkriegs beschlossen, ihre Nachbarn in Berlin auszuspionieren. 1952 besorgten sich US-Geheimdienstler aus der Ost-Berliner Postverwaltung die Lagepläne der amtlichen Fernsprechleitungen. Dabei fand sich die Position eines dicken Kupferkabel, welches die Dienststellen der sowjetischen Administration in Karlshorst bei Berlin mit dem deutschen Hauptquartier der Roten Armee in Wünsdorf bei Zossen verband. Das Beste daran: das Kabel lag teilweise ganz nah an der Grenze.

Es war kein neues Verfahren. Der britische Secret Intelligence Service (SIS) hatte schon viele Jahre in Wien sowjetische Nachrichtenkabel angezapft. Die Aktion lief unter dem Namen „Operation Silber“. Ihre Kollegen von der CIA legten für Berlin einen analogen Codenamen fest: „Operation Gold“. Briten und Amerikaner begannen im Frühjahr 1953 mit den Vorbereitungen. Die Geräte kamen von den Briten, das Geld für die Arbeiten steuerte die CIA bei.

Der Berliner CIA-Stationschef William King Harvey, Jahrgang 1915, hatte einen sehr speziellen Ruf. Für Kollegen war er der „stets revolverbewehrte Trinker und Ex-FBI-Agent“ (so der CIA-Chronist Tim Weiner). FBI Chef Edgar Hoover hatte ihn 1947 höchstpersönlich gefeuert.

Der Gegner der Operation Gold war Jewgeni Petrowitsch Pitowranow. Als ehemaliger Leiter der Auslandsspionage hatte er beste Kontakte in die westliche Geheimdienste. Bereits bei den Gold Vorgesprächen saß sein Mann beim SIS am Tisch, George Blake, beim KGB unter dem Codenamen „Diomid“ geführt, berichtete er alles an Pitowranow.

In Moskau regierte Nikita Chruschtschow. Für seine Weltpolitik war eine aufgeflogene CIA / SIS Spionagemission erstklassiges Propagandamaterial. Doch man wartete ab, um unbestreitbare Beweise zu sammeln. Im September 1954 begannen die Arbeiten am Tunnel. Der Einstieg lag im Süden Berlins, in Rudow. Als Tarnung wurden Militärlagerhallen und Radar-Antennen aufgebaut. Sechs Meter tief und rund vierhundert Meter weit, grub man sich in die sowjetische Zone. Das Kabel lag an der Straße zum Flughafen Schönefeld, die Arbeiter mussten rund 3000 Tonnen Erde durch den Tunnel scheffeln. Das Pioneer Corps hatte ein neues Schildvortriebverfahren getestet, das nun zum Einsatz kam. Doch es gab erhebliche Probleme, man hatte mit Wassereinbrüchen zu kämpfen, und statt festem Lehm fand man auf der Ostseite rieselnden Sand. Am Schwierigsten war der Endpunkt, denn das Kabel lag nur einen Meter tief. Die Nähe zur Straße machte die Stabilität des Tunnels kritisch.

ddr_grenze

Anfang 1955 war man endlich fertig. Belüftung, Entwässerung und eine Sprengladung zur Selbstzerstörung waren bereit. Die Experten schienen eine Verbindungen zur Leitung angeschlossen haben, ohne dass jemand oben etwas gemerkt hätte. Auf 500 Kanälen liefen Sprach- und Telexmeldungen. Ein großer Teil war verschlüsselt, in London wurde ein Auswertungszentrum mit 317 Spezialisten eingerichtet. Ein weiteres lag in Washington mit 350 Mitarbeitern. Allein 365.000 Gespräche wurden auf Tonband mitgeschnitten. Erstklassiges Material. Scheinbar. Tatsächlich kontrollierte Pitowranow genau, was über die Leitungen lief. Gelegentlich gab er selbst etwas zum Besten. Zum Beispiel beruhigte er seine Ehefrau, die ihre Unterkunft in Berlin nicht mochte, oder er verabredete eine Jagd, unwaidmännisch mit Nachtsichtgeräten.

Bis zum Schluss merkten die Analysten nichts. Dann beschloss Moskau Anfang 1956, die Falle zuschnappen zu lassen. Der KGB nutzte schwere Regenfälle als Vorwand, um Störungssucher loszuschicken. In der Nacht des 22. April wurde ein Loch gegraben. Unter den „Arbeitern“ war Markus Wolf, der spätere DDR -Geheimdienstchef. Scheinbar ganz zufällig wurden die Spionageanlagen entdeckt. Typisch CIA: die Selbstzerstörungsanlage versagte. So konnte später die internationale Presse den Tunnel besichtigen. Höhepunkt war ein von William King Harvey angeblich selbst gemaltes Schild: „Sie betreten jetzt den amerikanischen Sektor.“

Die CIA hatte im Tunnel ein Mikro und die zweifelhafte Genugtuung, die Kommentare der Besucher zu hören. Nachmittags wurde auch dieses Mikro gekappt. Um 15.50 endete Operation „Gold“ nach elfeinhalb Monaten.

SIS und CIA setzten weiter Ressourcen, ein um die Bänder auszuwerten. Erst 1961 enttarnte ein Überläufer aus Polen, George Blake als Maulwurf. Er wurde in Großbritannien zu 42 Jahren Haft verurteilt, entkam aber 1966 unter fragwürdigen Umständen. Er gelangte nach Moskau und gab zahlreichen Interviews. Der KGB hat nie Details zu „Gold“ genannt. „Gold“ war nicht die einzige CIA Abhöraktion in der DDR, doch ist es der einzige gut dokumentierte Fall.

Die DDR und Sowjetvertreter benutzten „Gold“ 1961 als Argument für den Mauerbau.

Es gab viele Abhör-Versuche in Berlin. 1973 hatte die Vermittlungsstelle Lübecker Straße in Moabit plötzlich zahlreiche Störungen. Während die Postmitarbeiter an der Behebung arbeiteten, erschienen drei britische Agenten. Wie sich herausstellte, hörte man mit alten Bleikabeln aus dem Dritten Reich seit Jahren Westberliner ab. Ein Kabel war bei Bauarbeitern beschädigt worden und löste die Störungen aus. Auch KGB und Stasi hörten Westberlin ab. Die Telefonzelle auf der Westseite des Checkpoint Charly wurde täglich neu verwanzt und ebenso oft von westlichen „Kammerjägern“ entwanzt.

Die Staatssicherheit überwachte die Telefonverbindungen nach Westberlin und auch die Briefpost.

Nach dem „Gold“-Fiasko setzte die CIA immer mehr auf die Überwachung der drahtlosen Kommunikation der Sowjets. Auf dem Teufelsberg wurden große Abhöranlagen errichtet. Doch auch dort brachte es der KGB fertig, Personal einzuschleusen.

Einen Kommentar hinterlassen

Berliner_Mauer_stueckeDDR_grenze_berlin